top of page

A Little Halloween Inspiration...

I don't typically share my paintings online, mostly because I paint them for me. Also, I don't claim to be an artist. For me painting is just a past time I enjoy and I paint things that I like to see. But in the spirit of Halloween I thought I would share my three latest paintings here on Night Shapes and Shadows.

(Please note that these photos were taken with a cell phone, so the quality may not be the best)

Painting 1: The Pumpkin

I have a great love of pumpkins, and especially Jack O Lanterns. I collect them and one of my published stories is called "Pumpkinface" (featured in "Scream: An Anthology" from Bridgewater Publishing, England) So it only makes sense that one of my paintings feature this iconic Halloween symbol.

Painting 2: The House on the Hill

This may be my best work so far, I don't know, I guess whomever is reading this will form their own opinions. But for me, this is my favorite, and it adorns the wall in my room. I just love the silhouette of the house against the moon. I have no idea why one part of the roof is crooked, I just liked it that way. I also did the windows in red instead of yellow or white. I think it added a more creepy element to the painting.

Painting 3: The Horseman

Who does not love the Headless Horseman from Washington Irving's Legend of Sleepy Hollow? Personally it is one of my all time favorite stories and one of my favorite horror characters. Of course you have my love of pumpkins present in this one. I like the contrast in shades for the ground. This was based on a piece I saw online, I am not sure who the artist is, but they did a wonderful job, I changed mine a little bit, but I wanted to mention that this idea was not mine alone, it is an interpretation of someone else's work, but I still think it is a good piece.

So there you have it. A little taste of Halloween as we get closer to the night of the dead. I hope you enjoyed these paintings and they may even inspire you to pick up a brush and try your hand at painting. It is a lot of fun. Please leave a comment below and let me know what you think of the paintings. Maybe even shoot me some suggestions on future painting ideas. I am always looking for fresh ideas.

Happy Halloween!!!


bottom of page